Continuing Medical Education

The Continuing Medical Education (CME) program at Kansas City University (KCU) supports physicians in their effort to remain up-to-date in their profession. Maintaining clinical standards is a lifelong process that requires staying abreast of the latest procedures, technology and approaches in medicine. The KCU-CME mission is to provide educational activities to physicians and other healthcare professionals that will improve competence, performance, and patient outcomes by reinforcing basic medical knowledge, communicating evidenced-based clinical information, sharing new research findings related to practice gaps, enhancing professional practice and introducing new ideas, skills and technology. 


CME activities have been planned and implemented in accordance with the accreditation requirements and policies of the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) and American Osteopathic Association (AOA) through the joint providership of the Missouri Association of Osteopathic Physicians and Surgeons (MAOPS) and Kansas City University College of Osteopathic Medicine. MAOPS is accredited by the ACCME to provide continuing medical education for physicians.

CME Activities

KCU Homecoming 2024
October 17-19, 2024

GME Grand Rounds

Request Duplicate Certificate

If you have completed a CME event at KCU and need a duplicate certificate, please email with the details of your request. A $15.00 fee will be charged for certificates that have to be re-created and mailed (excludes KCU Faculty).  If a copy of the certificate can be e-mailed, the fee is $5.00.   

CME Credits

CME credits are awarded on a per-hour basis, and can be reported for a variety of activities.   

  • Faculty can self-report category 1-A hours spent delivering medical education lectures to medical students or residents.
  • Faculty can self-report category 1-B hours spent precepting medical students or serving as GME faculty.

CME Committee

The KCU-CME committee members also serve as the CME Planning committee that recommends policy to the administration of KCU in matters relating to CME. Membership of the committee includes faculty and staff from KCU and may include physicians from local communities. The committee will identify and document needs, establish the goal of each CME activity, create objectives, develop activities, identify target audience, choose the activity dates and locations, identify speakers, resolve any speaker conflict of interest, communicate all conflicts of interest and commercial support to the audience, and ensure appropriate disclosures are communicated to the audience. Members of the committee, who do not have any relevant financial relationships with commercial interests are listed below.

    • Committee Chair - Carol Kirila, DO, FACOI
    • Committee Vice-Chair - Kerrie Jordan, DHSc, C-TAGME
    • Chris Bowles
    • Gautam Desai, DO, FACOFP
    • Sarah Getch, PhD
    • Benjamin Grin, MD, MPH
    • Hana Hamdan, MD
    • Alex Hopkins, MEd
    • Sherri Howell, DO
    • Jessica Marsh
    • Jared Nichols, DO
    • Robert Rogers, MA, PhD
    • Amy Sickel, PsyD
    • Ken Stewart, DO, FACEP, FAAEM
    • Melissa Triplett, DDS
    • Felicia Vaught, BS
    • Kenneth Zaremski, DO, AOBFP, AOBNMM


    • G. Michael Johnston, DO, MACOI
    • Sharon Gustowski, DO, MPH
    • Kenneth Heiles, DO

    Administrative Support

    • Lois Benge-Fortin